Liebster Blogging Award

17 May

Lieber award

Thank you so much to The Obsessive Reader for the nomination for the Liebster Award. It is an award passed on by bloggers to new blogs worth reading (blogs with less than 200 followers).

Note: I didn’t do blogs with less than 200 followers, because I don’t know how to find that out, and also I just wanted to choose blogs I read. I’ve also only chosen Book Review blogs because that’s what I’m here for! I read a whole range of types of  blogs but will stick to book blogs for this.

Recipients of the Liebster Award must:

  1. LIST 11 RANDOM FACTS ABOUT YOU.
  2. ANSWER THE QUESTIONS THAT WERE ASKED OF YOU (BY THE BLOGGER THAT NOMINATED YOU).
  3. NOMINATE 11 OTHER BLOGS FOR THE LIEBSTER BLOG AWARD AND LINK TO THEIR BLOGS.
  4. NOTIFY THE BLOGGERS OF THEIR AWARD.
  5. ASK THE AWARD WINNERS 11 QUESTIONS TO ANSWER ONCE THEY ACCEPT THE AWARD.
11 Facts About Me:
  1. I was born and raised in Sydney, Australia and haven’t lived anywhere else.
  2. I have 3 cats; two of them are British Blue Shorthairs, and the other is a stray we got from the Cat Protection Society. They’re named Saffy, Barney and Missy.
  3. I have a phobia of whales. I don’t know why but they freak me out.
  4. I have 2 half brothers and a half sister, although I don’t think of them as ‘halves’.
  5. I have a few weird, old-lady hobbies including cross stitching and doing puzzles.
  6. I love watching all types of sport, but i’m terrible at actually playing sport.
  7. I’m probably the clumsiest person in the world.
  8. I was born on my due date (apparently this is pretty rare).
  9. I want to have 4 children when I become a parent – boy, girl, girl, then boy.
  10. Carl Barron is my favourite comedian, and when I watched one of his videos on the plane I was laughing so loud I got asked to be quieter by the flight attendant.
  11. I will read any genre of book, except erotica, and I refuse to ever read 50 Shades of Grey.
Answers to Questions Asked by The Obsessive Reader:
  1. What is your favorite quote or saying? (And where’s it from/who said it?) And those who were seen dancing were considered insane by those who could not hear the music’ Friedrich Nietzsche. 
  2. If you could travel back in time, which year would you travel back to (and why)? If you mean a year I’ve already lived through, I’d probably go back to 2005 when I was in year 10 at high-school, because it was so much fun! If it’s any year, I’d choose some time in the 20’s just after the war when everything was fun and people let loose! 
  3. What was your big dream as a child? It’s weird because I just realised I don’t think I ever had any big dreams. 
  4. What was your biggest fear as a child? My family leaving me or dying
  5. Which book would you really want to experience on the big screen? A Thousand Splendid Suns, or The Bronze Horseman
  6. If you were an animal, which animal would you be? A cat that is looked after by a good owner. So I could just sleep all day
  7. Disney Channel or News Channel? News
  8. Tell us something really weird and random that has stuck to your memory? I had this dream once when I was about 8 or 9 of all these basketball hoops that were really close to the ground (about 20cms or so) and a basketball just kept bouncing in and out of them endlessly. 
  9. My weirdest habit is… bouncing my leg up and down constantly without realising i’m doing it!
  10. What is your favorite book? I have no favourite book. I love so many
  11. Approximately, how many hours a day do you spend on Facebook/Twitter etc. ? I work in Digital Marketing which involves a lot of social media, so I actually spend my entire work day on Twitter, about an hour of it on Facebook. Then when I come home i’d probably spend about 30 mins on Facebook. 
11 Questions For My Nominees:
  1. What is your favourite memory of your life?
  2. If you had to move country and live in another one, where would you pick?
  3. When is your birthday and do you like the time of year your birthday is in?
  4. What’s your favourite TV show?
  5. What’s your middle name?
  6. Do you prefer actual books or e-books?
  7. What’s your favourite book that you’ve reviewed on your blog, and can you share the link?
  8. What’s your favourite weekly book blog meme?
  9. If you could only eat sweet food or savoury food for the rest of your life, what would you pick?
  10. What food that most people like, do you hate?
  11. What do you do for work?
My Nominations:
  1. Melissa’s Bookshelf
  2. The Obsessive Reader
  3. Bibliobeth
  4. 1 girl 2 many books
  5. Book Shelves and Window Seats
  6. The Book Musings
  7. Chrissi Reads
  8. Lucybird’s Books
  9. Sam Still Reading
  10. Rather Be Reading
  11. Books, Biscuits, and Tea

-H-

12 Responses to “Liebster Blogging Award”

  1. Celeste May 17, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

    Thank you Hannah for nominating me :). It was great to know a little bit more about you. I can shake your hand with Fact number 11, I feel the same way. Thanks for sharing! Love it.

    • hms1990 May 17, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

      Finally! Someone who feels the same way about 50 Shades as me. Everyone wanted to read it to see what the hype was about, but I’ve heard it’s terribly written and i’m SO not interested!

  2. melsbookshelf May 18, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    Thanks for nominating me! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoy my blog! I’m a new follower on Twitter!

    • melsbookshelf May 18, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      BTW, I’m also in agreement with you and Celeste on 50 Shades 😉

    • hms1990 May 18, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      You’re welcome and Thanks for following 🙂

  3. Melinda May 20, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    Thank you for the nomination! 🙂

  4. StetotheJ May 20, 2013 at 6:53 am #

    Congrats for the award…Fifty Shades is indeed the worst book in the universe.

    • hms1990 May 20, 2013 at 8:39 am #

      Haha thanks, and so I’ve heard. Although I’ve also heard plenty of intelligent, well read women raving about it. But I’m sticking to my guns and not reading it!

  5. StetotheJ May 22, 2013 at 7:02 am #

    Don’t get slightly tipsy and then agree to read it, I did, I reviewed it after though, just to trash it but don’t fall into that trap. It scarred me for days and made me mistrust all women’s opinions. I am better now though.

    • hms1990 May 22, 2013 at 8:45 am #

      Haha sounds terrible! Glad you recovered

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Awards, Awards, Awards: Thank you! | {The Book Musings} - May 29, 2013

    […] also nominated me for this award. Like her, I also refused to read 50 Shades of […]

Leave a Reply

claudsvscupid

a Sydney single’s face off with modern dating misery

A Poem A Day

Brendan Stoneham - Poet

Tien's Blurb

My reading blurbs

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

Disciples Perspective

Join the Conversation. Prepare for the Confrontation.

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

let's create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

The ToiBox of Words

A look inside the mind of a writer who loves comic books, vinyl records, chocolate, and a good film.

Adora Writes

Sense will always have charm for me.

book'd out

Book Reviews and News

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Marpay Fitness

Unleash The Lion Within!

L.M. Sacasas

Technology, Culture, and Ethics

Pros Write

More workplace success--without platitudes

you said it...

If they didn't publish their hatred, it wouldn't have appeared here.

Maija's Fantasy Reads

Fantasy and other speculative fiction book blog

The Angry Grey Cat Reads

Reading, Drinking, Reading, Napping...Reading

Deb Deb Reviews

Two Debby's who love to read

Eva Genin

www.evagenin.com

diaryofafairweatherdiver

Find me at http://fairweatherdiver.blogspot.com/

Cynthia Stacey

Young Adult Paranormal Author - Expect the Unexpected!

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

"I like the scars because I like the stories. Bravery, stupidity, pain - none of them come free." - Jessica Martinez, Virtuosity

Book Chatter

Chatting with friends about books and life...

All The Books I Can Read

1 girl....2 many books!

blackplume.wordpress.com/

lover of written words

Just Reading For Fun

A fine WordPress.com site

Lucybird's Book Blog

Book reviews and discussion

The Word Jar

Book reviews. Publishing news. Wordy views.

Importantish

Cui multum datum est multum quaeretur ab eo

love & other legumes

Healthy vegetarian home-cooking...not just tofu & lentils

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

TheCoevas official blog

Strumentisti di Parole/Musicians of words

intradaynifty

An Endeavor To Explore The Uncertanity

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Radiance Project NZ

beauty through balance & nature

Book Journey

Continuing adventures of a true bookaholic...

