Teaser Tuesday

19 Feb

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Should Be Reading.

Rules
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Teaser

Book: I’m currently reading The White Woman on the Green Bicycle by Monique Roffey. I’m up to page 208, and my teaser is from page 338. You might think that the below is a spoiler, however the fact that George sleeps with other women is revealed near the beginning of the book

‘I came to understand that George slept with other women. He did so in the name of modernity, of this new age’s allowances and celebration of promiscuity, but most of all because of the feast that was on offer to him.’

The White Woman on the Green Bicycle - Monique Roffey

The White Woman on the Green Bicycle – Monique Roffey

-H-

 

6 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday”

  1. kzemek February 19, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    Funny title. The teaser wasn’t what I expected. Here’s ours: http://www.ourstack.blogspot.com/2013/02/tuesday-teasers-brain-on-fire-and-me.html

  2. Sandra Nachlinger February 20, 2013 at 5:42 am #

    “…in the name of modernity…” Sounds like an excuse to me! But I love the title of the book and your teaser too. I’m curious about this book.
    My Teaser is from TEN TINY BREATHS.

  3. Vickie Bates February 20, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    That George fellow sounds like a scoundrel!

    I’m currently reading “The Garden of Evening Mists” by Tan Twan Eng, which is on the Man Booker short list this year:

    “Once I lose all ability to communicate with the world outside myself, nothing will be left but what I remember. My memories will be like a sandbar, cut off from the shore by the incoming tide.”

    • hms1990 February 20, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

      He is a scoundrel, a 75 year old one!

      That sounds interesting. I’m going to look it up and might add it to the ever growing list

      • Vickie Bates February 21, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

        Oops – I goofed – this book is on the Man Asian (not the Man Booker) short list this year. So many literary prizes – so many great books to choose!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Teaser Tuesday | books are the best - February 26, 2013

    […] Bicycle by Monique Roffey. It’s taking me forever. I’m now up to page 401 whereas with last week’s teaser I was up to page 208. My teaser is from page […]

Leave a comment

claudsvscupid

a Sydney single’s face off with modern dating misery

Tien's Blurb

My reading blurbs

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

create something beautiful—Katie Ann De Crescenzo

The ToiBox of Words

A home on the web for Toi Thomas- a geek-girl, content creator, and reading advocate. She's a WIP-work in progress.

Book’d Out

Book Reviews and News

this is... The Neighborhood

the Story within the Story

Marpay Fitness

Unleash The Lion Within!

L.M. Sacasas

Technology, Culture, and Ethics

Pros Write

Communicate Expertise

you said it...

If they didn't publish their hatred, it wouldn't have appeared here.

Maija's Fantasy Reads

Fantasy and other speculative fiction book blog

The Angry Grey Cat Reads

Reading, Drinking, Reading, Napping...Reading

Eva Genin

www.evagenin.com

diaryofafairweatherdiver

Find me at http://fairweatherdiver.blogspot.com/

Cynthia Stacey

Paranormal/Fantasy Author -Imagination is my life!

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

" You are a weapon meant to move mountains." - N.K. Jemisin

Book Chatter

Chatting with friends about books and life...

All The Books I Can Read

1 girl....2 many books!

blackplume

lover of written words

Just Reading For Fun

A fine WordPress.com site

The Word Jar

Book reviews. Wordy news.

Importantish

Cui multum datum est multum quaeretur ab eo

love & other legumes

Healthy vegetarian home-cooking...not just tofu & lentils

TheCoevas official blog

Strumentisti di Parole/Musicians of words

intradaynifty

An Endeavor To Explore The Uncertanity

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

radiance project

beauty through balance & nature

Book Journey

I Guess I'm Doing This (and other Adventures)

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Jane McKay Communications

We communicate in words and images. I create both.

CURNBLOG

Movies, thoughts, thoughts about movies.

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Global

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com blog ever

moderndayruth

Tarot inspired essays and more