#5 Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins

5 Dec

The Hunger Games Trilogy – Book 3 of 3

Mockingjay - Front Cover

Mockingjay – Front Cover

Goodreads rating: 4.04 (660,000+ ratings)

My rating: 3.5/10

Why it’s on the list: I read the first book because I wanted to read it before seeing the movie, and because I can’t start a series without finishing it, this had to be read.

First published: August 24th, 2010 by Scholastic

Genre: Action, Adventure, Sci Fi, Young Adult

I strongly disliked this book (hate is too strong of a word to use). I really loved the first book, thought the second book was average, and this one, was terrible. I’m going to write this review assuming you’ve read the first two books, however, I’m not going to give away any spoilers like I’ve read in other blogs.

The third instalment in The Hunger Games trilogy follows ‘heroine’ Katniss Everdeen as she becomes the ‘Mockingjay’ – the symbol of rebellion of the districts against the Capitol.

Katniss, who is meant to be the hero of the story, comes across as egotistical, a coward, and selfish. A decision she makes at the very end of the book is weak and childish, and completely ruins her character for me. She seems to enjoy seeking revenge, and is horrible to those who love and care about her.

Gale, her best friend and on/off love interest, is kind and protective of her, yet she constantly pushes him away, and then needs him again. The lack of empathy shown towards brainwashed friend Peeta is unattractive. In my opinion, there is no redeeming qualities about her at all.

Mockingjay tackles some serious issues such as severe poverty, oppression, and the effects of war. Although I believe it does a good job of conveying these themes in a believable way, I found the story dragged on, and on, and on, and on. Then there was a quick burst of action, and then nothing. The book ended, and I was disappointed.

I will still see the movie once it’s out, which is due to be separated into two parts (much like the last Harry Potter and Twilight books were when being adapted for movies). It is beyond me how they will split it into two movies, there is simply not enough action or interesting plot to make two movies. Unlike Harry Potter and Twilight, which actually had so many events in the last books that they would have done injustice to the book to make 1 film.

If you’ve read the first two books, then I’d say you really should read this to close the story off. If you’ve only read the first book, I’d highly recommend not bothering with #2 or #3. 

Bits & pieces

  • Collins says that if she had to go into the Hunger Games, her strategy would be “hiding” (source).
  • Collins was one of the 100 Most Influential People for 2010, according to Time magazine
  • The first printing was for 350,000 copies. Well over 750,000 are now in print.

Past reviews

“the themes of the series, including physical hardships, loyalty in extreme circumstances and traversing morally ambiguous terrain, are continued at an even larger scale.” In the book, Katniss must deal with betrayal and violence against people. At the same time, while she was symbolically touching thousands of lives, she must also lead those people into war. – The Baltimore Sun

Notable quotes

If we burn, you burn with us.― Katniss, to the Capitol[src]

Why can’t I just let him go? Slip him a pill, pull the trigger? Is it because I care too much about Peeta or too much about letting Snow win? Have I turned him into a piece in my private Games? – Katniss

“Never underestimate the power of a brilliant stylist,” – Peeta

I killed you…And you. And you. – Katniss 

It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart. – Finnick Odair

-H-

4 Responses to “#5 Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins”

  1. Celeste May 17, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

    Oh now you made me think. I currently have Hunger Games and Catching Fire laying on my bed. My next two reads after I finish Daisy Chain. I have watched Hunger Games but I really want to read the book. I think I should just read the both and read Mockingjay and form my opinion form there. Love your post 🙂

    • hms1990 May 17, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

      Thanks Celeste. The book is better than the movie (As usual) but the movie still gave it justice. They’re a pretty easy and quick read so I doubt it’d take you long!

      • Celeste May 18, 2013 at 12:33 am #

        I guess it won’t. But I love your honest review I have to admit. I love that movies can give the book version justice like the Notebook, I actually loved the movie more with the Notebook.

      • hms1990 May 18, 2013 at 12:40 am #

        I haven’t read the book version of that yet! If it’s not as good as the movie is it worth reading?

Leave a Reply

claudsvscupid

a Sydney single’s face off with modern dating misery

A Poem A Day

Brendan Stoneham - Poet

Tien's Blurb

My reading blurbs

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

Disciples Perspective

Join the Conversation. Prepare for the Confrontation.

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

let's create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

The ToiBox of Words

A look inside the mind of a writer who loves comic books, vinyl records, chocolate, and a good film.

Adora Writes

Sense will always have charm for me.

book'd out

Book Reviews and News

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Marpay Fitness

Unleash The Lion Within!

L.M. Sacasas

Technology, Culture, and Ethics

Pros Write

More workplace success--without platitudes

you said it...

If they didn't publish their hatred, it wouldn't have appeared here.

Maija's Fantasy Reads

Fantasy and other speculative fiction book blog

The Angry Grey Cat Reads

Reading, Drinking, Reading, Napping...Reading

Deb Deb Reviews

Two Debby's who love to read

Eva Genin

www.evagenin.com

diaryofafairweatherdiver

Find me at http://fairweatherdiver.blogspot.com/

Cynthia Stacey

Young Adult Paranormal Author - Expect the Unexpected!

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

"I like the scars because I like the stories. Bravery, stupidity, pain - none of them come free." - Jessica Martinez, Virtuosity

Book Chatter

Chatting with friends about books and life...

All The Books I Can Read

1 girl....2 many books!

blackplume.wordpress.com/

lover of written words

Just Reading For Fun

A fine WordPress.com site

Lucybird's Book Blog

Book reviews and discussion

The Word Jar

Book reviews. Publishing news. Wordy views.

Importantish

Cui multum datum est multum quaeretur ab eo

love & other legumes

Healthy vegetarian home-cooking...not just tofu & lentils

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

TheCoevas official blog

Strumentisti di Parole/Musicians of words

intradaynifty

An Endeavor To Explore The Uncertanity

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Radiance Project NZ

beauty through balance & nature

Book Journey

Continuing adventures of a true bookaholic...

