#4 Fall of Giants – Ken Follett

3 Dec

The Century Trilogy – Book 1 of 3

Fall of Giants - Front Cover

Fall of Giants – Front Cover

Goodreads rating: 4.14 (35,000+ ratings)

My rating: 9/10

Why it’s on the list: About  5 or so months ago I was looking for book recommendations (Around the same time I started The List), and a good friend of mine recommended it to me. When she first sent me the synopsis I said no straight away, because it sounded long, rambling and boring. But once I saw another summary I decided to read it, and I’m so glad I did.

First published: September 28th, 2010 by Pan Macmillan

Genre: Historical Fiction, Epic

Fall of Giants follows five interrelated families from America, Germany, Russia, Wales & England and is set between 1911 and 1924, and covers huge events including WWI, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for women’s suffrage. It is full of love, scandalous sex, betrayal, war, loss, hatred, family ties, loyalty (both to family and country) and aristocracy.

When I first bought this book, I couldn’t believe how HUGE it seemed. But thankfully, it’s broken up into chapters that have small ‘mini-chapters’ within it, which makes it much easier to tackle. The story is so easy to get lost in, and the great thing about it is that you can totally relate to the people and their stories, even though it was set almost 100 years ago.

Cast of Characters - Fall of Giants

Cast of Characters – Fall of Giants

I found myself much more interested in the fate of the English, Welsh and Russian families than the German or the American, however they really are all interrelated and woven within each other that you can’t have one family’s story without the rest of them. Although the chapters jumped from one country to another, it was really easy to keep track of the families thanks to the handy index at the beginning, listing all the families, their acquaintances, and real historical figures from the time, as you can see in the photo to the left.

Every night when I’d read in bed, I felt like I was losing myself in a totally different world, and once I’d finished the book I felt like I was saying goodbye to old friends. I think whenever you feel like you’re going to miss a book and its characters, you’ve found a gem.

Bits & pieces

  • Fall of Giants was checked by eight historians. [Source]

-H-

8 Responses to “#4 Fall of Giants – Ken Follett”

  1. Indi December 4, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    Hi Han! Your book taste is far too intellectual for me but I am enjoying reading your posts. My taste is brainless chick lit hehe so hope you review one of those soon! x

    • hms1990 December 4, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      Oh don’t worry! There will be all sorts of genres I promise. But ‘Fall of Giants’ is a VERY easy read and easy to follow.

      I’ve read a fair few chick-lit in my time, but not for a while. I’ll review some soon. Maybe you could try reading some of these to expand your reading tastes!! x

      • Indi December 5, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

        I have tried, I just can’t get into them 🙂

        I have simple literary tastes obviously!

      • hms1990 December 5, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

        Nothing wrong with that! Hopefully there’ll be something you’d enjoy soon 🙂

  2. Celeste May 17, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

    I love a book that can make me get totally lost in it. I am not into historical fiction but I will read a great historical fiction if one gets recommended. I will definitely put Fall of Giants on my ever growing list.

    • hms1990 May 17, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

      You will 100% lose yourself in Fall of Giants. I’ve only recently started becoming interested in reading Historical Fiction, but this has to be one of my favourite books I’ve read. Definitely add it to the list!

      • Celeste May 18, 2013 at 12:30 am #

        Thanks for your recommendation 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WWW Wednesday « books are the best - February 13, 2013

    […] novel, book #2 of The Century Trilogy, Winter of the World. I loved the first book in this series, Fall of Giants, so am looking forward to reading this although I’ve heard mixed […]

Leave a Reply

claudsvscupid

a Sydney single’s face off with modern dating misery

A Poem A Day

Brendan Stoneham - Poet

Tien's Blurb

My reading blurbs

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

Disciples Perspective

Join the Conversation. Prepare for the Confrontation.

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

let's create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

The ToiBox of Words

A look inside the mind of a writer who loves comic books, vinyl records, chocolate, and a good film.

Adora Writes

Sense will always have charm for me.

book'd out

Book Reviews and News

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

The Neighborhood

telling the story from every vantage point

Marpay Fitness

Unleash The Lion Within!

L.M. Sacasas

Technology, Culture, and Ethics

Pros Write

More workplace success--without platitudes

you said it...

If they didn't publish their hatred, it wouldn't have appeared here.

Maija's Fantasy Reads

Fantasy and other speculative fiction book blog

The Angry Grey Cat Reads

Reading, Drinking, Reading, Napping...Reading

Deb Deb Reviews

Two Debby's who love to read

Eva Genin

www.evagenin.com

diaryofafairweatherdiver

Find me at http://fairweatherdiver.blogspot.com/

Cynthia Stacey

Young Adult Paranormal Author - Expect the Unexpected!

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

"I like the scars because I like the stories. Bravery, stupidity, pain - none of them come free." - Jessica Martinez, Virtuosity

Book Chatter

Chatting with friends about books and life...

All The Books I Can Read

1 girl....2 many books!

blackplume.wordpress.com/

lover of written words

Just Reading For Fun

A fine WordPress.com site

Lucybird's Book Blog

Book reviews and discussion

The Word Jar

Book reviews. Publishing news. Wordy views.

Importantish

Cui multum datum est multum quaeretur ab eo

love & other legumes

Healthy vegetarian home-cooking...not just tofu & lentils

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

TheCoevas official blog

Strumentisti di Parole/Musicians of words

intradaynifty

An Endeavor To Explore The Uncertanity

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Radiance Project NZ

beauty through balance & nature

Book Journey

Continuing adventures of a true bookaholic...

